about

Team

Prof. Dr. Christina Warinner
Principal Investigator
Max Planck Institute for the Science of Human History; University Professor of Biological Sciences, Friedrich Schiller University, Jena, Germany; Presidential Research Professor, Assistant Professor of Anthropology, Adjunct Professor of Periodontics, University of Oklahoma

Research Interests:
Microbial Archaeology, Human Microbiome, Origins of Dairy, Paleodietary Reconstruction, Evolutionary Medicine, Ancient DNA, Paleoproteomics
warinner@shh.mpg.de


Dr. Soninkhishig Tsolmon
Field Coordinator Mongolia
Mongolian Dietetic Association (President), Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia

Research Interests:
Nutrition, Health, Education, Traditional Mongolian Foods
soninkhishig@must.edu.mn


Dr. Jessica Hendy
Co-Director Protein Research Group
Max Planck Institute for the Science of Human History, Jena, Germany; BioArCh, University of York, UK

Research Interests:
Ancient Proteins, Past Culinary Practices, Food Traditions
hendy@shh.mpg.de


Dr. Matthäus Rest
Postdoc
Max Planck Institute for the Science of Human History, Jena, Germany

Research Interests:
Social Anthropology; Peasant Studies; Dairying; Cheese Making
rest@shh.mpg.de


Dr. Alexander Hübner
Postdoc
Max Planck Institute for the Science of Human History, Jena, Germany

Research Interests:
Human Microbiome; Bioinformatics
huebner@shh.mpg.de


Dr. Choongwon Jeong
Seoul National University, Korea

Research Interests:
Genomics, Genotyping, Population Genetics, SNP Analysis
cwjeong@snu.ac.kr


Dr. Alexander Herbig
Max Planck Institute for the Science of Human History, Jena, Germany

Research Interests:
Bacterial Genomics, Pathogen Evolution, Ancient DNA, Metagenomics
herbig@shh.mpg.de


Björn Reichhardt
PhD Student
Max Planck Institute for the Science of Human History, Jena; Central Asian Seminar, Humboldt-University of Berlin, Germany

Research Interests:
Social Anthropology, Cultural Geography, Landscape, Material Culture, Videography
reichhardt@shh.mpg.de


Sanjeet Kumar
PhD Student
Max Planck Institute for the Science of Human History, Jena, Germany

Research Interests:
Gut Microbiome; Functional Foods; Probiotics; Health
kumar@shh.mpg.de


Zoljargal Enkh-Amgalan
BA Social & Cultural Anthropology
Max Planck Institute for the Science of Human History, Jena / Free University of Berlin, Germany

Research Interests:
Anthropology, Film Studies, Art, Mongolian Studies
enkh-amgalan@shh.mpg.de